A New Year, New Challenges

A couple of days ago I bid a fond farewell to 2013 amid friends and family and turned my sights on 2014. 2013 was a pretty big, busy and awesome year for me. I didn’t end up meeting my writing goals for the year; I had aimed to submit 6 new short stories over the year and while I drafted 6 stories only 3 pieces were polished enough to submit and a couple had to be shelved entirely as they were not working the way I hoped. My writing pace slowed down since 2012 but my writing has gotten stronger, so that should be a worthwhile trade off. I had also hoped to have revisions on my novel further along, but I only worked on it during my crazy editing month. But in 2013 I made 22 submissions, of which I am still waiting to hear back on 4, and received an honourable mention from Writers of the Future. For 2014 I’m aiming again for 6 new stories submitted and to get my novel ready for some first readers.

2013 was also the year of my storytelling debut at the National Arts Centre. I went to Ad Astra for the first time, as well as Can-Con again and started helping out with the ChiSeries with Matt Moore, managing the book table. And the fall of 2013 was a time of sowing seeds for 2014. I became an Editorial Assistant for Beneath Ceaseless Skies, was invited to be part of an epic telling of The Iliad for next year, and Matt invited me to host the ChiSeries in January. So for as great as 2013 was, 2014 is shaping up to be an even bigger year. Maybe I’ll even snag that first acceptance. 🙂

2 thoughts on “A New Year, New Challenges

Leave a Reply

