First Reprint

My second post of the year and on schedule. And I’ve done pretty well with my daily reading so far. I missed the last couple of days, but I was able to critique an 100K novel in a little over a week, and some nights I read more than half an hour. But this had nothing to do with the title of this post.

There were a couple of things that happened late in 2016 that I forgot to mention. My story, Soil of Truth, which was published in Bundoran Press’s Second Contacts anthology in 2015, has been getting some love. It was included in a short fiction spotlight for 2016 with a nice review over on Black Gate. And I’ve made my first ever reprint sale. Soil of Truth is going to be translated in Chinese for Science Fiction World. I’m not sure when that will be published but I will post an update once it comes out.

And edits on my Folklore novel are coming along pretty well. I’ve finished all the major edits I had notes about and now am doing a full read through and marking it up in red font (cause digital). I keep floating between feeling confident and thinking that edits may not take as long as I was first anticipating, and being certain that I must have deluded myself into believing this and that there’s way more work ahead and I may not finish it on time. Oh the joys of being a writer. In reality, it’s probably somewhere between those two extremes: definitely stronger than my last novel (waiting on the back burner after 4 drafts), but still a healthy amount of work left. A certain amount of crippling self-doubt is normal for us artistic types and helpful motivation to work hard at making the story better. And critiquing groups and partners are a godsend. Speaking of which, time to get back to the editing.

Leave a Reply

